Hit it right with SHORT BUSINESS EMAILS – [Samples]

Here’s a collection of few email samples that are crisp and short. Hope this is of help to the readers 🙂

Hi [Name of Person],

Thanks for sending along your ideas for [name of project]. My only feedback is on the first point, which could stand to be stronger. Let me brainstorm a bit and get back to you by [date you’ll get back to person]!

Talk soon,
[Your Name]

*****

Hi [Name of Person],

Let me know if you had a chance to look over the spreadsheet I sent earlier this week. I’m hoping to get it finalized before [date you’re trying to have it completed] so would appreciate any feedback before then.

Thanks!
[Your Initial(s)]

*****

Hi [Name of Person],

Hope your week’s off to a good start.

Thanks for sending over those designs on Friday. I’ve tweaked a couple of key areas (revisions attached). Let me know if the modifications work on your end, and I’ll go ahead and submit them for final approval.

Warmly,
[Your Name]

******

Hi!

I’m still waiting on the updated numbers from the marketing team. As soon as I have them, I’ll send them your way. Looking forward to putting this together.

********

Hi [Name of Person],

Confirming our meeting on Tuesday evening at 6 PM. Let me know where you want to meet, and I’ll be there!

[Your Name]
Sent from my external memory.

******

Dear Mrs. Thatcher,

Thank you for your inquiry about Apple Stores. Find attached herewith some literature on our products including the products in alpha development stage. I have also included a sample username and password for you to try out the products that catch your fancy.

Please, do not hesitate to call me if you have further questions. I will be glad to have you as a customer.

Sincerely,

******

Subject: Revisions For Sales Report

Hi Jackie,

Thanks for sending that report last week. I read it yesterday, and I feel that Chapter 2 needs more specific information about our sales figures.

I also felt that the tone could be more formal.

Could you amend it with these comments in mind?

Thanks for your hard work on this!

Monica

(Monica then follows this up with a separate email about the PR department meeting.)

*****

Hi Emma,

Thanks for all your hard work on that report. Could you please get your version over to me by 5 p.m., so I don’t miss my deadline?

Thanks so much!

Harry

*******

Good closing lines include:

  • “Thank you for all your help with this.”
  • “Does that sound good?”
  • “I’m looking forward to hearing what you think.”
  • “Let me know if you have any questions.”

Expressions for thanking

  1. Thank you for your help. / time / assistance / support
  2. I really appreciate the help. / time / assistance / support you’ve given me.
  3. Thank you once more for your help in this matter.

Expressions with a future focus

  1. I look forward to hearing from you soon / meeting you next Tuesday.
  2. I look forward to seeing you soon.
  3. I’m looking forward to your reply.
  4. We hope that we may continue to rely on your valued custom.
  5. We look forward to a successful working relationship in the future.
  6. Please advise as necessary.
  7. I would appreciate your immediate attention to this matter.

Expressions for showing them you want to help

  1. If I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
  2. If you require any further information, feel free to contact me.
  3. If you require any further information, let me know.
  4. Please feel free to contact me if you need any further information.
  5. Please let me know if you have any questions.
  6. I hope the above is useful to you.
  7. Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.
  8. Please contact me if there are any problems.
  9. Let me know if you need anything else
  10. Drop me a line if I can do anything else for you.

 *****

When you’re initiating email contact with someone new

Very formal

“Might I take a moment of your time…” (to begin the email)

“Please may I introduce myself…” (to begin the email)

“Many thanks again for your time.” (to end the email)

More informal/friendly

“I’m just emailing to ask…” (to begin the email)

“I’m a friend of Bob’s…” (to begin the email)

“Just let me know if you have any questions.” (to end the email)

“Drop me an email, or give me a ring, if you want any more information.” (to end the email)

 When you’ve answered someone’s question(s)

Very formal

“I trust the above resolves your queries. Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.”

More informal/friendly

“I know that’s a lot to take in, so let me know if anything I’ve said doesn’t make sense.”

“Hope the above helps, but email again if you’re still having any difficulties.”

 When you’re asking the recipient to take some action

Very formal

“I would appreciate your help in this matter.”

More informal/friendly

“Could you look into this?”

“Would you mind checking it out for me?”

“Thanks in advance.”

“Can you get back to me once you’ve had a chance to investigate?”

“I’d love to hear your advice on this one.”

 When you need a response (but not necessarily any action taking)

Very formal

“I await a response at your earliest convenience.”

More informal/friendly

“Can you drop me a quick word so I know you’ve received this?”

“Look forward to hearing from you.”

 When you’ve heard nothing back and want to chase up a reply

Very formal

“In reference to my email of June 20th …”

More informal/friendly

“Just wondered if you got my email (June 20th)?”

“When you get a moment, could you drop me a line about my last email?”

Access more phrases here: http://en.bab.la/phrases/business/email/english-english/

Leave a Reply

